Academic Board

(A Committee of Council)

Constitution

Ex Officio Members

- 1. The Vice-Chancellor, who is chairperson
- 2. The Deputy Vice-Chancellor
- 3. The Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic
- 4. The Deputy Vice-Chancellor Māori
- 5. The Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research
- 6. The Pro Vice-Chancellor of each Division
- 7. The Pro Vice-Chancellor Teaching and Learning
- 8. The Assistant Vice-Chancellor Pacific
- 9. The Dean of the School of Graduate Research
- 10. The Heads of School
- 11. The Associate Dean Academic of each Division
- 12. The Associate Dean Research of each Division
- 13. The Academic Director, Tauranga
- 14. The Director of the University of Waikato College
- 15. The University Librarian
- 16. The staff member of Council (if not already a member under another provision of the constitution)
- 17. The President of the Waikato Students' Union
- 18. The Vice-President of the Waikato Students' Union
- 19. The Vice-President Māori of the Waikato Students' Union

Elected Members

- 20. Two professors, elected by and from each Divisional Board for terms of three years, such that the terms of the members provide for continuity
- 21. Two academic staff members elected by and from each Divisional Board for terms of three years, such that the terms of the members provide for continuity
- 22. Three academic staff members elected by and from Māori Academic Board of Studies for a term of three years, as specified in the constitution of the Māori Academic Board of Studies
- 23. One academic staff member elected by and from the Te Piringa Faculty of Law Board of Studies for a term of three years
- 24. Two students elected by and from the student members of each Divisional Board for terms of one year. The students may not be members of staff
- 25. One student elected by and from the student members of the Māori Academic Board of Studies for a term of one year. The student may not be a member of staff

Appointed Members

- 26. One postgraduate student appointed by the Dean of the School of Graduate Research for a term of one year. The student may not be a member of staff
- 27. One academic staff member appointed by the Vice-Chancellor on the nomination of the TEU for a term of three years

Co-opted Members

28. Up to four members may be co-opted by the Academic Board for particular purposes. In considering co-option under this provision, the Academic Board will give attention to any gaps in the current membership in terms of diversity and inclusion, and the range of disciplinary perspectives represented